

ANNAMACHARYA UNIVERSITY

(ESTD UNDER AP PRIVATE UNIVERSITIES (ESTABLISHMENT AND REGULATION) ACT, 2016)
(UNIVERSITY LISTED IN UGC AS PER THE SECTION 2(F) OF THE UGC ACT, 1956)

RAJAMPET, Annamayya District, A.P - 516126, INDIA.

The **Socio-Economically Disadvantaged Groups (SEDG) Cell** at Annamacharya University is a dedicated unit that addresses the needs and concerns of students from underprivileged backgrounds. Its primary objective is to ensure **equity, access, and inclusion** for students who face social and economic challenges.

The cell functions with an objective of creating an inclusive environment, supportive and motivated equitable academic environment.

Here's an overview of its key functions, structure, and relevance:

Purpose and Objectives

- 1. **Support and Empowerment**: To support students from socio-economically disadvantaged groups (SEDGs) I.e., economically weaker sections (EWS).
- 2. **Access to Resources**: To facilitate access to scholarships, financial aid, and government welfare schemes.
- 3. **Equal Opportunity**: To ensure non-discrimination and equal opportunities in academic and co-curricular activities.
- 4. **Awareness and Sensitization**: To conduct awareness programs, workshops, and seminars on social justice, human rights, and constitutional values.
- 5. **Grievance Redressal**: To provide a platform for redressing grievances related to discrimination or marginalization.

Key Activities

- Orientation Programs for newly admitted students from disadvantaged backgrounds.
- Scholarship Guidance and assistance in filling out applications for central/state government schemes.
- Remedial Coaching and mentoring to help bridge academic gaps.
- Skill Development and Employability Training tailored to disadvantaged students.
- Health and Wellness Support, including mental health counseling.
- **Celebration of Significant Days**, such as Ambedkar Jayanti, Constitution Day, etc., to promote inclusivity and awareness.

The constitution of Socio-Economically Disadvantaged Group Cell is as under:

- 1. Dr E Sai Baba Reddy, Vice-Chancellor- Chairperson
- 2. Dr D Krishna Mohan Raju, Dean IIC Member
- 3. Dr N Sivarami Reddy, Dean R & D Member
- 4. Dr D Lokanadha Reddy, Dean School of Agriculture- Member
- 5. Dr M Subba Rao, Dean Student Affairs- Member
- 6. Dr P Dwarakanadha Reddy, Officer-Incharge School of Health Sciences- Member
- 7. Dr M Uma Maheswar Officer-Incharge School of Scinces- Member
- 8. Mr Ajaya Kumar Reddy K IQAC Coordinator Member
- 9. Dr N Mallikarjuna Rao, Registrar- Convenor